The John A. Schmid Award

The John A. Schmid Award is named in honor of a former member of this association who distinguished himself in service to the game of soccer. The late John Schmid, PhD., was an ardent fan of the game who witnessed many matches in his lifetime and although he taught at Towson State University, his interests went well beyond that school and included happenings that occurred on both the local, national and international soccer scene. John served as historian for the Old Timers Soccer Association for many years. His historical records and memorabilia were extraordinary and dated back to the turn of the 20th Century. Following his death in the 1980’s, there was apparently no interest in this valuable material and its disposition remains uncertain.

Our association has, since 1987, honored annually an individual who most exemplifies the spirit of service to soccer provided by “Doc” Schmid. Service may have come in many different forms some of which are not easily recognizable. The recipients of this award have been selected for working with the handicapped, organizing programs, providing clinics, supporting the game with their time, their presence in the stands and even their pocketbooks. They have organized booster clubs, maintained our archives, sponsored teams, promoted unity and fraternity within the soccer community and provided administrative leadership in numerous positions of responsibility. Many of them have played, officiated, coached and even lined the soccer fields. In many cases, they have worked behind the scenes to bring the game to a higher level. They can be characterized by their love of the game, their concern for those who play or participate in the game and their willingness to contribute unselfishly to promote the game. We salute them and we honor them because without them the game of soccer would be poorer.

Download Nomination Form
1987 – Anna Steffen
1988 – August “Augie” Savarese
1989 – Mickey Jane Barger
1990 – Paul Scardina
1991 – George S. Mavronis
1992 – Kevin Healey
1993 – A. Douglas Rawlinson
1994 – Jack Mentzer
1995 – James Sarnecki
1996 – Louise Waxler
1997 – Jerry Dieter
1998 – Darwin “Lefty” Morton
1999 – Stephen Malone
2000 – Jerry May
2001 – Tony Falcone
2002 – Joe Taymans
2003 – John Nichols
2004 – Sylvia McPherson
2005 – William E. “Doc” Blandford
2006 – Gerard “Gerry” DiBartolo
2007 – Douglas Eisenhauer
2008 – Mike Woodard
2009 – Timothy Miller
2010 – Emory Lee Hood
2011 – Harry E. Young
2012 – Ben Neil
2013 – Hon. Phillip Tirabassi
2014 – Kevin Anderson
2015 – Bob Wall
2016 – Ed Hale