It’s A Repeat for Christos Defeating Yinz for Stewart Cup
March 13, 2017
maryland soccer hall of fame 2017
43rd Annual Maryland Soccer Hall Of Fame Banquet 2017
November 6, 2017
Show all

Message From The President

Welcome to all members of the Old Timers!  The fall was a slow time for our organization but things are heating up for the spring.  Some members of the executive board attended the annual Maryland Association of Coaches (MACS) all-state dinner on Monday February 6th.    It was well-attended and an entertaining evening.  MACS does a great job at recognizing the outstanding high school players in Maryland and the coaches that coach them as well.  They also assist us in choosing the two young people we honor at our Hall of Fame night.  This year they will be Ben Alexander of Calvert Hall and Cameron Murtha of Thomas Johnson High School in Montgomery County.  Our organization makes a generous donations each year to MACS to help them carry out their work.  In other news, our annual Bull Roast was held Saturday March 4th and we made a $1,000 that will help with our scholarship fund.  Also, we are trying something new this year.  Our spring general membership meeting will be on Friday April 7th at Claddagh Pub in Canton at 7 PM in their upstairs lounge.  We will dispense with the formal meeting and just have an evening of friendship and soccer talk.  We will cover the food and beer for the evening but anything else from the bar will be at your cost.  We welcome and look forward to your thoughts and comments on the idea of having this meeting at Claddagh’s Pub.  The crowning event of the year for the Old Timers organization will be on Friday May 12th. .  That is of course, our Hall of Fame night.  There is a flyer enclosed that lists all inductees and honorees for this year so I will not list them here.  I will say that this year may be one of the best HOF nights ever.  Not only will we induct seven people this year and honor recipients of the Dr. John Schmid Award, the Ray “Granny” Kraft Award, the high school kids and the Maryland Referee of the Year, but we will honor the undefeated MSA Champion Patterson High School team of 1966 and the women’s soccer program at Sparrows Point High School.  The Patterson team is celebrating their 50th anniversary and the Sparrows Point team has been MPSSAA 1A champion for the past four years.  Hope to see you there.

Please follow and like us: